The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development today named District of Columbia Housing Authority Executive Director Adrianne Todman as one of 15 persons to a new federal research advisory committee charged with offering independent advice to HUD on how to approach specific aspects of the seven-year expansion of the Department's Moving to Work (MTW) Demonstration.

MTW is a program for public housing authorities that provides them the opportunity to design and test innovative, locally-designed strategies that increase housing choices for low-income families, use federal dollars more efficiently, and help residents find employment and become self-sufficient. MTW gives housing agencies exemptions from many existing requirements associated with their public housing and Housing Choice Voucher programs, as well as more flexibility with how they use their federal funds. DCHA is a MTW agency.

Last year, through the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2016, Congress directed HUD to expand MTW to include an additional 100 high-performing public housing authorities over the next seven years. In addition, Congress called upon HUD to establish a federal research advisory committee.

HUD appointed the committee members, which include staff and residents from existing MTW public housing authorities, professional independent researchers, and research and program experts from HUD. This new advisory committee will provide advice to HUD in the development of specific policy proposals and methods of research and evaluation.

Todman’s fellow committee members include Josh Meehan, Keene Housing; Austin Simms, Lexington-Fayette Urban County Housing Authority; Chris Lamberty, Lincoln Housing Authority; David Nisivoccia, San Antonio Housing Authority; Janny Castillo, former resident of the Oakland Housing Authority; Cindy Fernandez, former resident of the Housing Authority of Tulare County; Asia Coney, resident of the Philadelphia Housing Authority; Larry Orr, Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University; Heather Schwartz, Ph.D., RAND Corporation; Mark Joseph, Ph.D., Case Western Reserve University; Stefanie DeLuca, Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University; Jill Khadduri, Ph.D., Abt Associates; Marianne Nazzaro, HUD’s Office of Public and Indian Housing; and Todd Richardson, HUD’s Office of Policy Development and Research.

Throughout the next year, the committee will review comments on www.hud.gov/mtw, request applications from possible new MTW agencies, and make final selections.


Last modified: 6/22/2016 4:39:00 PM